Back to Home

Soda Break

Don Quixote LCB Sinner
Hoho! Look out below!
Emil Sinclair LCB Sinner
S-Slow down! Don't just throw the bodies from above like that!
Feeding Mephistopheles was a gruesome task for everyone. Trying to have fun and making the most of their time wasn't uncommon among them.
When you're hauling entire people that once lived and walked, you would expect some form of respect. Which, in this case, there was none to be seen.
Not everyone can find joy through the ugly. Such is the case with Kiya, and understandably so.
Kiya LCB Sinner
Stop what are you doing this instant. Our fuel is not for a game of catch.
Don Quixote LCB Sinner
Uwaaah...! Thou arth no fun, Sir Kiya! There is little for us to do around here!
Kiya LCB Sinner
I do not care. You are making my head hurt from the noise.
Don Quixote continued to protest, of course, insisting that arms and legs were enough to serve as throwable objects.
Each second of this argument tempted him to reach for his weapon, more and more.
Someone else was lucky enough to notice and act on this immediately.
Ishmael LCB Sinner
Leave him be, Quixote. You can do whatever you want.
Kiya LCB Sinner
Are you serious...?
Ishmael LCB Sinner
Yes, always. Come here.
Frustrated that he could not convince his coworker to cease her antics, Kiya reluctantly followed until they were only a short distance away from everyone else.
He couldn't stand it, if he's being honest with his mind. If only the Manager wasn't so busy with the others.
Kiya LCB Sinner
Look at them, the fools.
Kiya LCB Sinner
How can one have complete disregard of life itself? Because we are able to come back into it, and they can't?
Ishmael LCB Sinner
I know. A while back, I thought the same. It won't change anything if you try and argue.
Ishmael LCB Sinner
Sometimes...I guess you just have to endure it.
Ishmael reaches down into the bag of snacks the sinners had been keeping for this day. She takes two sodas and hands it to Kiya.
Kiya LCB Sinner
I do not want to drink.
Ishmael LCB Sinner
I didn't say you could decline.
Kiya LCB Sinner
Fine. You offered, and it would be rude if I said no.
He pops it open and takes a sip. Still cold. That bag must have been insulated. The two of them stare into the distance, watching as the teeth of the bus chew and crunch happily.
Kiya LCB Sinner
I just don't think I understand them the way I want to.
Kiya LCB Sinner
Every one of us has their own individual goals. Different from one another.
Kiya LCB Sinner
I am not you, and you are not me.
Ishmael LCB Sinner
Do you want to be me? After the shit we went through?
Kiya LCB Sinner
.....
Ishmael LCB Sinner
Yeah. Thought so.
Kiya can't help but scoff and sip from his drink again. She got him there a bit. Ishmael sighs and taps him on the shoulder.
Ishmael LCB Sinner
Right, okay. Listen.
Ishmael LCB Sinner
We've had a few adventures together. Don't think that you're not part of us because of that distance in your mind.
A turn of his head, unsure of what she means by that.
Ishmael LCB Sinner
I've been bothered by how much I don't know much about the others too, you know. I've been thinking that maybe it should change.
Ishmael LCB Sinner
We can never understand each other the way we understand ourselves, yeah? But you still sit by and talk to us, trying to.
Ishmael LCB Sinner
You may not know it, but they're more appreciative than you think.
Kiya LCB Sinner
I...have been trying, yes. I am in the belief that I just have a different view of things.
Kiya LCB Sinner
Hah. Don't we all? I must sound ridiculous right now.
Ishmael LCB Sinner
Not at all. I've heard worse from Heathcliff's sleeptalking.
At that, the two of them laugh. Their conversations were always short, but memorable in his eyes.
Kiya was always afraid to grow closer. Loss was not a great feeling at all.
Kiya LCB Sinner
I should try harder.
Ishmael LCB Sinner
You've been trying your hardest. The best you can.
Ishmael LCB Sinner
Don't worry too much, okay?
Where Kiya swears that would be her cue to leave him, Ishmael instead gestures to sit next to him and converse some more.
"She got bolder." He thought to himself. During most situations, the two of them were supposed to be sensible and fast-acting.
Though, maybe a break from thinking ahead was a good idea in the long run of things. A moment as simple as sharing a drink with someone he could actually call a friend brought some joy into his day.
Ishmael did not see it, being far too busy rambling about her adventures at sea, but for the first time in a good bit of his period here...
Kiya felt safe.